---
title: "👓Visitor Preview: Allow visitors to preview content before purchase"
description: Optionally let visitors preview content in selected steps before registering.
source: intercom
original: https://help.pathwright.com/en/articles/495165-visitor-preview-allow-visitors-to-preview-content-before-purchase
retrieved: 2026-11-09
visibility: public
date: 2024-12-13
author: /people/pathwright-team.person.md
intercom-id: "495165"
collection: Managing Path settings
section: Step and lesson settings
---

# 👓Visitor Preview: Allow visitors to preview content before purchase

It's often beneficial to let potential learners preview a portion of a learning Path before they enroll. Our preview setting allows you to designate certain steps as available for viewing by the public without a login.

💡Tip: no part of a *private* Path is visible until after registration. This includes the "About" page and the "Preview" of the Path. Making steps available for preview will not override the [visibility settings](../../launch-your-path/path-visibility/visibility-settings-control-who-has-access-to-your-paths.help.md) or a [future start date](../path-and-cohort-settings/set-start-and-end-dates-on-access-to-a-cohort.help.md), so you may need to adjust these settings in order for the preview to be available.

## How to make steps available for preview

You can opt to make individual steps available for preview under the [Step Settings.](./step-settings-adjust-step-behaviors-assign-points-require-staff-review-and-more.help.md)

1. From a public Cohort Path, open the step you wish to make available for visitors to preview.
2. With the “**Design**” button toggled on, select **Settings** (gear icon) in the upper right corner of the step.
3. Select **"More Settings."** Under **"Step visibility,"** select **"Anyone can preview."**
4. Be sure to publish the changes using the **Publish** icon in the upper right corner of the page.

![](../../assets/495165-1.webp)

## How to use Preview Mode

If you make a step available for preview, and publish the cohort as a public offering, anyone will be able to see the content of that step under the Path **Preview** tab without signing in or registering for the Path. Use to allow potential learners to demo a certain part of your Path, i.e., the first lesson.

If your Path is members-only, then only currently members with access to your Learning Space will be able to preview content before enrolling.

Note that as Preview Mode does not include progress tracking, *we do not currently support Preview Mode for steps containing assessments. Discussions will also be hidden in Preview Mode.*

Any steps that are not available for preview will show a lock screen.

![](../../assets/495165-2.webp)
